Louisiana Real Estate License
If you are in search of real estate license in Louisiana, you are in the right place. In this paragraph, I am going to tell you how to get your license step by step.
The job is really profitable. However, it requires great effort. But, believe me, it is worth it. Consider the fact that as a real estate agent in Louisiana you’ll gain nearly $71,100 per year on average.
How do I get my real estate license in Louisiana?
If you are ready to make deals with clients, buy and sell any properties according to their requirements, you need to know how to get a real estate license in Louisiana.
Here are the initial requirements the licensee must meet:
- be 18 years or older
- be a citizen of the USA or a non-native (who is a permanent habitant)
- have a high school diploma or another certificate similar to that (GED)
So if you correspond to these points, you can already move forward and take the steps.
Which steps do I have to take to get my real estate license?
- Firstly you must take the 90-hour approved pre-licensing course. Only after completing the course successfully, you can take the second step.
- Secondly, you have to take the course final exam which will be given to you after you are done with your pre-licensing education. You need to get the minimum 75% score to pass it.
- To test your knowledge, you must pass the Louisiana real estate exam. You need to pay $90 and as soon as the LREC approves your application you will be able to register your exam. The test consists of 135 questions, and you have 180 minutes to complete it.
- This step is considered the most important one. You have to find a real estate broker to sponsor your license. It is a decisive matter and you should pay attention to many important factors. The experience is the key. Get someone to lead you in the right way to set up your career.
- After that, you must submit your application to Louisiana Real Estate Commission. In this stage you need to get the license number and signature from your sponsoring broker.
- Third is the background history check. You need to submit a set of fingerprints to an approved vendor, Clearbox. However, you should do it after passing the real estate exam, as the results of the check are available only for 120 days.
- To be protected from the claims in your services, you need to acquire Errors and Omissions insurance (E&O). It is obligatory for all licensees. To clarify, you can get the LREC group policy or another equivalent insurance coverage.
What are the continuing education requirements after getting my real estate license?
Within 180 days of getting your license, you must complete a 45-hour post-licensing education. It is required only once. To retain the real estate license, however, you have to renew it each upcoming year before 31st of December. During the renewal you must take at least 12-hour Continuing Education.
Do Realtors have license numbers?
Each of the 50 states gives license numbers to real estate agents and brokers. When the agents complete the requirements for licensure, the state requires a license reference number. The number is necessary to identify the licensees and make sure they meet all state requirements. Consequently, if they don’t have it, they will be fined.
Is the Louisiana real estate exam hard?
The Louisiana real estate exam is administered by PSI and it can seem really hard. Above all you need to take into account that the PSI test questions are rather tricky, so you need to be very attentive and work with your eyes and mind simultaneously.