You should know in advance what documents or info you need to present for marrying legally. Therefore, we provide a quick summary of the whole application process that will guide you.
To apply for the marriage license in Louisiana you and your partner need to go to the Clerk of Court Office in person. After that, you should submit an application. You can download the application and fill it in in advance as well. Both partners need to be present. If only one is present the application must contain the other party’s notarized signature. Yet, there is no need to present the signature if one of the applicants is a US arms forces member. A copy of military ID may substitute for a signature.
The package of the required documents are as follows:
In case one or more of these documents are in a foreign language you must submit the translation by a certified translator or consulate.
There are parishes where you can apply for the license online as well.
The name change is a very personal decision. In Louisiana, this process seems more complicated than in any other state. In case you want to change your name you can do so by
No blood test is required in Louisiana anymore. However, marriage between persons related by blood and even adoption (in the 4th-degree collateral) is prohibited. In other words, only second cousins are allowed to marry.
There is a 24 hours period of waiting. That means that there should be a full day between the license issuance and the wedding ceremony. However, if a special need arises the ceremony may take place earlier.
For that, the applicants should waive the waiting period. The district judges or the local public officer – justice of the peace authorize the waiving process. There are cases such as for non-resident applicants when the officiant can waive the 24 hours waiting period.
Remember that the waiving document should be attached to the certificate at the time of returning it to the Louisiana Vital Records Registry.
The marriage ceremony must take place in Louisiana. However, the parties must not be residents of Louisiana. Two witnesses and an officiant should be present during the wedding ceremony.
You can also purchase a marriage certificate. In one of the parishes – Orleans Parish you can order your certificate։
In other parishes, you can get it by contacting the District Clerk court.
Once obtained a marriage license in Louisiana is valid for 30 days. Compared with the Kansas marriage license validity period of 6 months, one month is a very short period. If you don’t marry during this period your license becomes invalid. Then you must return the old license to the Clerk’s Office. No refunding is available. After that, you should renew it if you still wish to marry. For that, you may need to pay an additional fee.
As in other states of the US, there is an age restriction in obtaining a marriage license. According to Louisiana law of 01.08.2019, the minimum age for marrying is 16. That means people under 16 cannot get a marriage license. Besides, individuals between the ages of 16 and 17 can’t marry a person who is 3 or more years older than them. If a person from this age group wants to marry legally he or she must present the following documents:
And understandably, individuals aged 18 can legally get a license in Louisiana without any permission.
You can purchase a Louisiana marriage license for $27.50․ You must pay an additional $5 for the marriage certificate. The mailing state charge for the transaction is $0.50. No fee is refundable. You can pay the fee by cash, money order, check, credit, or debit card.
You can have an option of covenant marriage in Louisiana. Entering into a covenant marriage means two things:
For entering into a covenant marriage both partners should sign a declaration of intent with the presence of a notary. Thus, this document makes sure that the parties will do everything to preserve their marriage. Those steps include premarital and marital counseling from a marriage therapist, clergyman, minister, or priest of any religious body.
Afterward, the couple signs an Affidavit and Attestation form. It confirms that the marriage counselor has discussed with the couple the seriousness of this kind of marriage. Very importantly, applicants must present these documents to the official who issues the Louisiana marriage license.
Louisiana allows same-sex marriages legally since 2015. It occurred after the decision of the US Supreme Court. Moreover, couples can even adopt a child.
The state of Louisiana doesn’t allow proxy marriages. There are only a few states that do not prohibit marriages in a proxy.
Proxy marriage is when one or both partners aren’t physically present during their wedding ceremony.