Do you have a bright business idea that you want to bring into reality? Are you looking for guidelines to assist you in starting your business in the state of Louisiana? Say no more, we know how important it is to learn every detail of the licensing process, state-specific requirements, laws, and regulations to launch your new business successfully.
Almost every city/county in Louisiana requires obtaining licenses or permits to run your business. There is no state-issued, general business license that will apply for every business operating in the state. Instead, you may need to obtain a business license, or permits according to the nature of your business and the local authority of your city/county.
As each municipality in Louisiana defines its own regulations of business licensing you must reach your local government. The most common types of licenses and permits issued in the state are:
In addition to getting a license or permits in your local address, you should also register with the Louisiana Department of Revenue if your business is selling taxable goods or hiring employees.
The requirements of licensure, tax registration, and permits may vary due to location and the nature of your business. To acquire a business license generally, you will need to:
Since every parish/city sets its own licensing process, here we have outlined the licensing requirements of the state’s major cities.
To start your business in Orleans Parish, you need to obtain either an occupational business license or a general business license. You can get your business registered with the One Stop Shop at City Hall. If you’re going to sell goods in public spaces of the city you should get a mobile vendor permit.
All the businesses operating in Baton Rouge, La should get an occupational license. The occupational business licenses are issued by Baton Rouge Finance Department. If in Baton Rouge you change your retail location constantly, you must obtain a city vendor license.
To operate your business in Louisiana you may need one or more licenses or permits in addition to the tax registration. Several types of professions require licensing based on the work you do in the state. The most common professions that require licensing are as follows:
To get the full list of professional licenses and learn more about getting a license in your industry visit the official website of the State of Louisiana.
You need to file Articles of Organization with the Louisiana Secretary of State and pay $100 in order to establish your LLC business in the state. Additionally, you need to pay $60-70 for EIN registration and $30 to file an annual report with the Louisiana Secretary of State.
The cost of licensing varies due to the local regulation and the nature of your business. For instance, in the City of New Orleans, the occupational license fee depends on the annual sales of your business but starts at $50. The licensing fee in Baton Rouge varies between $25 and $50.