Are you ready to start a new career? The Louisiana license lookup is here to help. The Louisiana license lookup includes detailed licensing information for the top jobs in the state. Find a job you’re interested in, learn the licensing requirements, and get to work. It won’t be long before you have a license, and you’re ready to embark on your new career.
Louisiana does not issue a general business license like many other states. However, you might need licenses and permits to operate your business in the state. The Secretary of State’s geauxBIZ website is an excellent resource to use when determining licensing requirements. You can create an account and enter information. Then, the website will create a licensing checklist for you. If you need to get licensed, it will include all the requirements to move forward with your business.
If you want to become a residential contractor, begin by filling out and submitting your application to the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors. Be sure to include a financial statement that shows at least $10,000 net worth. The board will review your application and then provide you with testing information. Then, you can take the Business and Law Course and the trade exam if required. You’ll also need to provide proof of at least $100,000 in general liability coverage as well as proof of workers’ compensation insurance. Your insurance agent can email it to the board. Once the board receives all the information, including your exam scores, it will determine if you meet the requirements for a license. If you do, it will issue your license.
The process is the same for commercial applications. However, you do not have the same insurance requirements. Also, depending on the scope of work you perform, you might need licensing from other agencies. For instance, if you provide electrical work, you’ll need an additional license. The Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors makes it easy to determine what you need to get your license.
If you’re at least 18 years of age, you meet the first requirement to get your producer license. You need to be a trustworthy and competent person and reside or work in Louisiana. Next, you need to meet the pre-licensing education requirements. You must take 20 hours each on life, health and accident, property, casualty, and personal lines. You also need eight hours on bail bonds and you have the option of combining life, health, and accident into a single 40-hour course. The same is true for property and casualty. Then, take and pass the licensing exam and submit your fingerprints. Next, you can submit your application on the National Insurance Producer Registry website.
You have to be of good moral character and at least 21 years old to become a doctor in Louisiana. There are other requirements, as well. You need to earn a Doctor of Medicine degree from an approved medical college and then complete a year of post-graduate training. You also have to pass the licensing exam before you can apply for your license. Louisiana Department accepts the FLEX, COMLEX-USA, NBOME, and National Boards. You can take all the steps of one exam or combine exams. You’re allowed to make as many attempts as you want on Step 1. You have four attempts each on the last two steps of the exam. Then, complete your FCVS application and undergo a background check. After you meet the requirements, you can apply via the LaMED Dashboard.
You can begin your nursing career by becoming a licensed practical nurse (LPN) or registered nurse (RN). You must meet the education requirements for the type of license you want to obtain. The LPN program is one year long, while you can choose between a two- and four-year RN program. After you earn your diploma or degree, you need to take the exam. LPN candidates must pass the NCLEX-PN exam, while RN candidates have to pass the NCLEX-RN exam. Then, submit your fingerprints and send your application to the Louisiana Board of Nursing.
You can also become an advanced practice nurse (APRN) in Louisiana. Begin by getting your RN license. Then, earn a graduate degree in your advanced nursing specialty of choice. You also must complete a supervised clinical preceptorship that lasts 500 hours. Then, take the national certification exam. You will need to take a specific exam to become a nurse practitioner, certified nurse-midwife, certified registered nurse anesthetist, or clinical nurse specialist. You can then submit your application to the Louisiana Board of Nursing.
You have to be at least 18 years old to get your Louisiana salesperson license. You also must have a GED or high school diploma, and you need to complete 90 hours of pre-licensing education courses. After you finish the classes, take your real estate salesperson licensing exam, find a sponsoring broker, and pass a background check. Then, obtain an errors and omissions insurance policy and submit your application to the Louisiana Real Estate Commission.